The 2001 Halg/ENSA Prize for European Neutron Scattering

Professor R Cywinski phy6rc at
Thu Aug 9 12:23:54 CDT 2001

Jane Brown is the recipient of the 2001 Walter Hälg Prize of the European
Neutron Scattering Association.

Every two years the European Neutron Scattering Association, ENSA, awards
the prestigious Walter Hälg Prize to a European scientist for outstanding
coherent work in neutron scattering with a long term impact on scientific
and/or technical neutron scattering applications. The Prize of 10,000 Swiss
Francs is donated by Professor Walter Hälg, the founder of neutron
scattering science in Switzerland. In 2001 the Hälg Prize is to be presented
at a special session of the International Conference on Neutron Scattering,
to be held in Munich between 9-13 September.

A large number of nominations were received for the 2001 ENSA/Hälg Prize.
These nominations have been examined by an international selection committee
consisting of authorities representing the major scientific disciplines,
both within and beyond the field of neutron scattering. After considerable
deliberations the selection committee is now delighted to announce that the
recipient of the 2001 ENSA/Hälg Prize will be Professor Jane Brown of the
Institut Laue Langevin, Grenoble, in recognition of her outstanding
contributions to the science of neutron scattering over the last four

Professor Brown has made a significant impact upon our understanding of the
fundamental magnetic properties of materials through her contributions to
both the development and exploitation of polarised neutron diffraction and
advanced spherical neutron polarimetry techniques for the precise
determination of complex magnetic structures and spin density distributions.
She has played a key role in developing and establishing a computational
framework, namely the extremely powerful and extensively used Cambridge
Crystallography Subroutine Libraries (CCSL), to facilitate structure
determination from crystalline diffraction. Professor Brown is also very
well known to the European neutron scattering community for the expert
guidance, support and training in single crystal and magnetic diffraction
that she has tirelessly provided at the Institut Laue Langevin over the last
thirty years.

Professor Brown is a graduate of Cambridge University, England. She first
became interested in the application of polarised neutrons in the early
1960s whilst spending a year at Brookhaven National Laboratory in the US.
Returning to Cambridge as a lecturer in the Cavendish Laboratory she forged
close links with Harwell, where she established a programme in neutron
diffraction. In 1972 she was appointed as Senior Scientist in charge of the
Diffraction Group at the Institut Laue Langevin.  She received a Gulbenkian
Visiting Professor Appointment to work at the University of Coimbra,
Portugal, in the early 1990s and has also been a Visiting Professor at
Loughborough University in England for several years. Although formally
retiring from the Institut Laue Langevin in 1995, she continues to run an
extremely active research programme, whilst also remaining a very popular
local contact for user experiments.

Bob Cywinski
Chairman of ENSA
University of Leeds, UK

Professor R Cywinski
Chairman Of the European Neutron Scattering Association
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Leeds
Leeds LS2 9JT

Tel +44 (0)113-233-3841
Fax +44 (0)113-233-3846

e-mail: R.Cywinski at

More information about the Neutron mailing list