[Neutron] Fifth Annual Niels Bohr International Academy Workshop on ESS Science: Condensed Matter Theory and Advanced Software

Heloisa Nunes Bordallo bordallo at nbi.ku.dk
Sun Jun 14 20:11:45 CEST 2015

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the Fifth  Niels Bohr International Academy Workshop School on ESS Science which will be held November 9 - November 13, 2015  at the Niels Bohr International Academy in Copenhagen.

The fifth workshop and school on ESS Science will focus on the use of sophisticated data analysis methods along with extensive computational modeling to extract as much information as possible from the experimental observations and thereby gain profound scientific insights from scattering experiments.

Detailed information and registration form are available at


Following the successful formula from the last years, the students will be given a small project and will be guided by the lecturers to a solution. In parallel with, and following the school we plan to hold a small but intensive scientific meeting on carefully selected topics of relevance to the school and of current interest with extensive discussion between experimental and computational scientists.

This workshop is sponsored by the PhD School of the University of Copenhagen and by the European Spallation Source.
There  is no fee for the participants, but attendance will be limited.

The school is limited to 20 students to be selected from the applications received. Details are also given at the workshop web page.
We offer free accommodation to the students.

Confirmed Speakers:

Dimitri N. Argyriou - European Spallation Source, Sweden
Heloisa N. Bordallo - Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
Jeroen van den Brink - Institute for Theoretical Solid State Physics, Germany
Stefano Carreta - Università di Parma, Italy
Pascale P. Deen - European Spallation Source, Sweden
Juergen Eckert - University South Florida, USA
Gerald Kneller - Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire -  CNRS, France
Erik Lindahl - KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Charles M. Marcus - Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
Murillo L. Martins - Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
Maxim Mostovoy - Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, The Netherlands
Poul Nissen - Aarhus University, Denmark
Thomas Proffen - Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Stéphane Rols - Institute Laue-Langevin, France
Neal Skipper - University College London, UK
Jernej Stare - National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia
Sandor Toth - Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland

Heloisa N. Bordallo (bordallo at nbi.ku.dk), Pascale P. Deen (pascale.deen at esss.se) and Juergen Eckert (juergen at usf.edu).

Local Support:
Gitte Michelsen (gittem at nbi.ku.dk). and Murillo Longo Martins (murillolongo at gmail.com).

Looking forward to seeing you at the NBIA on November!

Best wishes,

Heloisa N. Bordallo, on behalf of the organizers

Heloisa N. Bordallo
Associate Professor (Lektor)
Niels Bohr Institute
(H.C. Ørsted Institute, bldg. D)
University of Copenhagen
Universitetsparken 5
2100 Copenhagen Denmark
Phone: +45 213 088 29
bordallo at nbi.ku.dk

More information about the Neutron mailing list